Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Aynsley, Anderson Big Winners at Year-End Awards

Forwards Ryan Aynsley and Taylor Anderson each picked up three awards as the Castlegar Rebels held their year-end banquet tonight at the Portuguese Hall. The team decided to change things up a bit this year, holding the awards at the end of the regular season rather than at the conclusion of the playoffs. Aynsley, who finished second in the KIJHL with 76 points in 2009-10, snagged awards for MVP, Top Forward and Top Scorer, while Anderson won Most Valued Team Player, Most Inspirational Player and the Gerry Lacasse Memorial Trophy. Other Rebels singled out for awards were:

Alex Ross, who won the Sports and Education Award. Tyler Robinson won the Sportsmanship and Ability Award. Erik Alden was named Most Improved Player. Alaskan Spencer Brodt is this year's Rookie of the Year, while veteran Keagan Little was named Most Popular Player. Another 20 year-old, Gilbert Bilodeau won Top Defenseman.

The twenty year-olds were also given commemorative awards: Little, Bilodeau and Patrick Christie walked away with plaques.

That's all for now, stay tuned for previews of both Neil Murdoch Division series featuring an interview with Rebels coach Brent Heaven. Also, the playoffs officially begin tonight in the Elk Valley, with Fernie facing off against the Golden Rockets.

No comments: