Wednesday, March 3, 2010

KIJHL Playoffs Continue

Interesting to see the results from the first two games of the Neil Murdoch Division finals between Nelson and Spokane, specifically the performance of Cash Ulrich. He was yanked in Game 1 after allowing 4 goals on 11 shots (sound familiar) as Nelson won 7-1. The Leafs pounded 5 goals past him in the first period of Game 2 last night en route to a 6-3 win. This after he stymied the Rebels in four straight games in Round 1. The series now heads back to Spokane for Games 3 and 4 on Thursday and Friday, a Game 5 would be played at the NDCC on Sunday night.

Fernie continued their unbeaten run in the first two games of their series with Creston Valley, but the games were a lot closer than the Golden series as the Ghostriders won 4-3 and 3-2. A Nelson-Fernie conference final would surely provide some great hockey for fans in both cities.

The Okanagan Conference, due to differing schedules, have already made it through 4 games of the second round, and one series is already over. Princeton swept the Sicamous Eagles with a 3-2 win last night. The other series saw Chase jump out to a 2-0 series lead over #1 seed Revelstoke, only to lose both their home games. That series is now squared at two games apiece.

The KIJHL also announced their individual award winners. As mentioned here last week, Rebels goalie Andrew Walton was named the Neil Murdoch Division's MVP, while Brent Heaven was named top coach. Below is a look at both the award winners for the division and the league, for the full list of KIJHL award recipients, click here.

Top Defenceman: Chase Wharton, Spokane
Most Sportsmanlike: Chris Cucullu, Nelson
MVP: Andrew Walton, Castlegar
Rookie of the Year: Jesse Collins, Spokane
Coach of the Year: Brent Heaven, Castlegar
Top Scorer: Scott Morisseau, Beaver Valley
Top Goalie: Billy Faust, Nelson

Top Defenceman: Caleb Roy, Revelstoke
Most Sportsmanlike: Faiz Khan, Revelstoke
MVP: Devon Hobbs, Chase
Rookie of the Year: Trevor Fitzgerald, North Okanagan
Top Scorer: Scott Morisseau, Beaver Valley
Top Goaltender: Jason Greenwell, Fernie
Coach of the Year: Troy Mick, Revelstoke

No comments: