Monday, April 16, 2012

Nitehawks Fall Short At Cyclone

A tough go in Abbotsford for the BV Nitehawks, who finished fourth in the four-team Cyclone Taylor Cup over the weekend.

Beaver Valley dropped Sunday's bronze medal game 5-3 to the Delta Ice Hawks, and mustered only seven goals through four games. 17 year-old Dallas Calvin led the Nitehawk charge with 2 goals and an assist for the tournament.

The host Abbotsford Pilots won the Cyclone Taylor Cup for the second time in franchise history, defeating Victoria in the gold medal game. The Pilots will now represent BC at the Keystone Cup in Saskatoon.

Only four KIJHL teams have hoisted the provincial trophy in the last fifteen years: Revelstoke in 2010, Osoyoos in 2005, Sicamous in 2002 and the Nitehawks in 2001. The last West Kootenay side to reach the final was Nelson three seasons ago, they lost to former Smokies Rajan Sidhu,Clayton Chessa and the Richmond Sockeyes.

Despite what had to have been a frustrating weekend, full credit to the 'Hawks for a fantastic 2011-12 season. Beaver Valley were a formidable force this season and are well-deserving KIJHL champs.

No comments: