Monday, April 2, 2012

Nitehawks Soar to KIJHL Title

Craig Martin scored twice, including the eventual game-winner midway through the second period as Beaver Valley captured their first KIJHL title in 8 years, and sixth in franchise history with a 4-2 win at Kelowna last night.

The 'Hawks, who finished 31 points ahead of the Chiefs during the regular season, swept the final series as part of a 16-5 overall playoff record.

Dallas Calvin posted back to back 5-point nights in Games 2 and 3, and Beaver Valley is now bound for their first Cyclone Taylor Cup since 2004, where they'll serve as the first West Kootenay entry since the 2009 Nelson Leafs.

This year's 'Hawks club returned a strong core of players from a team that last year quietly posted a 32-13-1-4 record, and through the playoffs got key contributions from everyone from captain Chris Derochie down to the 1A-1B tandem of Mike Vlanich and Zach Perehudoff between the pipes.

The Cyclone Taylor Cup will be a challenge, as the 'Hawks get set to face the cream of the crop from our province's 2 other Junior 'B' leagues. Here's a look at Beaver Valley's schedule for the tourney which opens in 10 days' time in Abbotsford.

Thursday, Apr. 12: Beaver Valley vs. Delta Ice Hawks (PIJHL), 3:00 PM
Friday, Apr. 13: Beaver Valley vs. Victoria Cougars (VIJHL), 3:00 PM
Saturday, Apr. 14: Beaver Valley vs. Abbotsford Pilots (host), 7:30 PM
Sunday, Apr. 15: BRONZE MEDAL GAME, 11:00 AM
Sunday, Apr. 15: GOLD MEDAL GAME, 3:00 PM

All games are at MSA Arena, Abbotsford

No comments: